In Conversation With Adjei Agyei-Baah

Kwabena On Assignment

ADJEI Credit: Adjei Agyei-Baah 

Adjei Agyei-Baah (AAB) is a poet and co-founder of Poetry Foundation Ghana. He speaks to me (KAY) on his art of poetry and Ghanaian poetry. This interview was conducted via Facebook Chat.

KAY:  Some time ago, you told me that you are a ”slow writer.” I presume it’s a delicate, slow, long process of trying to craft poems. How is your relationship with your poems like Ashanti, In The Event of My Demise and To The Widow?

AAB:  Yeah, you recollect it so well, my creative brother.To me, the art of poetry is like a puzzle and a word (or letter) choice determines the next. Any careless placement can put the whole piece in disarray. Hence, I have always been tactical and strategic in the knitting of my poem and this is what goes into what I term as ‘’slowness’’ which I often speak of.

However, there…

View original post 1,553 more words

About Kwabena

Career Student
This entry was posted in Africa. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Conversation With Adjei Agyei-Baah

Leave a Reply

